• Grumpy Wookie

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Recent Visitors

  • Blog Stats

    • 346,251 hits

Around The Bay 210km

Last year, I completed the Around The Bay 100 km’er from Sorrento to Melbourne – and had since completed a 100km Mountain Bike race (Wombat100) – so I figured I should up-the-ante for the Around The Bay ride.

I nervously (?) entered myself in the ‘full’ loop around the bay – 210 km !  

This would the reverse of last year’s ride – plus – the ferry to Queenscliffe – and then via Geelong, to Melbourne – with a final ride over the Westgate bridge.

A fairly ambitious goal !   So, I set about doing some training rides with some guys from work.  This meant a lot of 6am Sunday starts – meet-up in St.Kilda – and then to Frankston – and home again.   And a lot of ride-to-work days (once a week).

My km’s were getting up-and-up – with 107km, 124km, 127km – and 154km – with a total of 650km of riding in September alone – and one last 90km’er ride home from work (the Monday before the Around The Bay ride).

I was pretty sure I’d be ready to go – lots of friends were re-assuring me that I’d be OK – but it still seemed like a BIG ride – more than 60km over my previous longest distance.  

Also – the “time” in the saddle, and need for correct nutrition and hydration – I was getting nervous.

The day before the ride, I cleaned & checked over my bike, fitted my race numberplate and loaded everything into my car, ready for an early start.

IMG_4118

I also set-up a simple web-page that would display my location via the iPhone InstaMapper app.  

I set it to send my location every 600 seconds (10 mins) – which ended up being every 5km or so – and thankfully my battery was still around 40% at the end of the ride.

The wife & kids were able to track where I was at – and follow my progress – it worked MUCH better than I coulda hoped…!

http://is.gd/FollowMeAroundTheBay

Early start

4am alarm clock – yikes !     Toast, muesli, yoghurt – and a can of V – and leave home at 4.30am.   I parked the car just near Melbourne High School – and got myself ready.   My back pockets were bulging with banana’s, gels, nut bars, as well as phone, money, keys, sunscreen – pretty much everything I’d need for the day.

I met up with a buddy at 5.45am – and we found a place in the line-up – there were THOUSANDS of people there !

IMG_4123

IMG_4124

Leg 1 – Melbourne to Sorrento

We took off in a staggered start from 6am, with our group crossing the start-line around 6.30am.   It was a stop-start flow at the beginning – with so many people, and lots of traffic lights.

I lost my riding buddies early-on, and we’d said we might re-group in Frankston, so I settled in for the first 50km.    The weather was ‘ok’ – very cool and a bit of a breeze, and I was actually shivering – so I decided to work a bit harder, and get warm.

There was a young bunch of riders who were charging, so I stayed behind them for a while, passing lots of people – and by Mordialloc, I was needing a break. 

Only a hour into the day, I told myself to ‘slow down’ and pace a little.   Needed a quick toilet break (bottle of hydro-fluid, 2 cans of V, and nerves !) – and chomped down a muesli bar.

I pressed on, with the aim of stopping again in Frankston.  

The first major hill of the ride is the short-but-tough Oliver’s Hill – just past Frankston (50km) – so I stopped for a breather (HR 187 !) – and had a gel, and a banana – and waited for a while to see if my other buddies were close behind.

After about 10mins or more, I wondered if they might have stopped earlier (official rest stop back in Frankston) – so I started to move off, and ride further.

The next few km’s were pretty cruisey – sun was out, and everyone was into the spirit of the ride, chatting to random people – and lots of happy people / smiles.

The next hill section was Mt.Martha – slow & steady – before heading down to Dromana, and the ride along the peninsula.  

As the bunch got to Dromana, there was a charging head-wind, so I stopped again to have a drink, and SMS to my buddies to see where they were at.

To my surprise, my friend had messaged only 3 mins earlier to say they stopped in Dromana, and were heading to Sorrento – they were AHEAD of me !

I’d assumed they were a little (or a lot) behind me – they must have passed me when I stopped in Mordialloc (Tour de Cafe).

It was only a short ride to Sorrento, but into a decent headwind, so it was tough going, and had been over 3.5 hours riding by now.

My goal was to reach Sorrento (100km) in 4 hours – averaging 25 km/h – so I was on target, but it was getting tough. 

I finally made it to Sorrento – and called my friends to say “just arrived” – they were surprised too – and had assumed I was miles in front of them – LOL !

We were booked into the 10.30 ferry – it was 10.15 – made it to Sorrento in 3:45 mins !   One of my friends was turning back – doing the Melb-Sorr-Melb tour – I headed for the ferry with another friend (Jason).

Was kinda cool to load onto the ferry with all the other people – and lots (LOTS) of bikes – we were joking that the bikes were worth more than the ferry !  

Was approx 500 people – so could have been close to $1m worth of bikes…

This is about 1/4 of the stack of bikes on the ferry – it was pandemonium getting OFF the boat, with people trying to find their bike.

IMG_4125

Was nice to sit down for the first time for the day – and chat to people about all manner of things – mainly bike-related – but a great friendly vibe. 

And – to chomp down the sandwich and cake that I’d grabbed on the way to board the ferry.

Leg 2 – Queenscliffe to Melbourne

After sitting on the boat for about 40mins, it was hard to get going again !

Had to refill water bottles, and then rolled on towards Geelong.  We had been expecting that this next leg would be pretty tough – and it was haaaard indeed.

A blasting head-wind and some up-and-down sections, on rough roads, and feeling a little fatigued.   The wind got worse heading into Geelong – so when we made it to the rest stop, we took a break – my buddy had a sore knee, and was needing to stretch it out a little.

Another gel, and a few gulps of water, and we headed on – a whirling gale wind through the city/suburbs of Geelong – not pleasant – for riding, or for dirt/dust in the eyes.

As we were heading OUT of Geelong (Corio), the next thought (hope) was that we’d get a tail wind from Geelong – to push us home to Melbourne.

Waiting at the traffic light to turn right, I could see the tree branches bending “to the right” – so it was *ON* – tailwind – wahoo !

The next hour, we steamed along at 40 km/h with a blasting tail wind – was really nice to churn along.    That got us as far as Werribee, as we turned off the Princes Hwy.

Was close to 190km done now, and I was watching the Garmin tick over, and had a ‘beep’ for every 5km and a time.   Around 10mins for 5km was the goal – so only 20km to go – about another 1/2 hour or so (?)

Time seemed to drag a little as we wound our way closer to the city – Hoppers Crossing, Laverton, Altona (some nice views of the city), Williamstown, Newport, Yarraville.

We had a few glimpses of the WestGate bridge, and knew we were to be riding over it – but it seemed like we’d circled around the suburbs – were we lost ?!?

The Garmin showed 205km to go – so close !   And then we saw a sign that said 15km to go – WTF !?    *sigh*

We finally turned up the ramp to the WestGate bridge, which was pretty amazing actually – people are not allowed to cycle over it any other time – so it was a great experience – and awesome view down to the city below.  

We turned off the freeway again, and back underneath the bridge on the city side – and around through Port Melbourne – and into the final few streets.

We met up with a lot of other riders coming up from Sorrento – or maybe from the Melb-Frankston-Melb ride.   I was actually feeling pretty strong (!) and so I was charging up the outside of the bunch to get away from the slower folk.

Only a few more turns, and then it was the finish line – along Alexandra Parade.

Finished !

I made it – wahoo !!    I fist-pumped the air as I got to the finish line – and was handed a finishing medal.  

image

A surreal feeling – and much more than 210km….!

The Garmin read 231 km – but I’d forgotten to hit pause on the ferry – so it was actually about 226km of riding – WOW.

image

I found my other riding buddies, and then had to sit down for a rest – phew !  

They were all done, and were wanting to head home – so I said farewell – and went to grab some food.

My body was feeling OK – just very worn-out (spent !) – and I scoffed a chicken burger – and then headed off to the car myself.

Was a slow drive home – but I finally made it, and began unpacking.

I was greeted by Cameron (Mr.7) holding a card that he’d made for me – and he told me “Well done Dad !   I’m proud of you…”

Such an amazing feeling to hear your SON say that – it’s normally ME saying it to HIM !  

I guess I hadn’t considered the achievement from HIS perspective – I kinda showed him that you can do incredible things, if you put your mind to it.

IMG_4127

IMG_4128

It’s all over…

I was in a bit of daze as we organised the usual family goings-on – with dinner, and kid’s baths – and when they were finally in bed – I jumped into the spa for a soak – and then went to bed myself – remembering that I’d been up since 4am !

The next few days were tough – back to work the following morning – feeling a little sore, but not too bad – just exhausted.

My eyes were really sore from the wind and grit – and I had a sore throat, and sneezing – probably hay fever from pollen & dust blown on the wind.

I was checking the Garmin stats, and comparing with my buddies over different segments on Strava (suffer score of EPIC – 514 !) – and checked the final times from Around-The-Bay official timing.

226km – in 9 hours 42mins – amazing !!

image

Oh yes – and I burnt 4,675 calories in the day – equivalent to the ‘energy’ from eating 9.5 Big Mac’s – LOL !

Fund Raising

The other aspect to the ride is the charity fund-raising for THE SMITH FAMILY.   When I rode last year, I didn’t raise any money.  This year, I hadn’t gotten any donations in the weeks leading up to the ride – so I wasn’t too concerned about it.

I put a message onto FaceBook + Twitter and then emailed to a few people – on the Thursday before the ride – with a goal of raising $210 – for 210km.

The donations came in one-by-one – and then flooded in – and I made a total of $738 in the end – incredible !

Thanks to everyone’s generosity, there will be a few children benefitting from the $$ raised – either with assisted reading or mentoring, or a Christmas present pack (for over 20 children).

You can still sponsor me – I think they’re taking donations until end of November.

http://aroundthebayfundraising.com.au/?ChrisOConnor

What a day !

So, the Around The Bay for 2012 was an incredible experience – beyond expectations.  I succeeded – and – raised a stack of cash for a great charity.

I’d had a great ride – no punctures or mechanical troubles – no physical problems or injuries – just some bad windy conditions – not too much to complain about, really !

And – an awesome home-made card from Cameron to top it all off.

Thanks again to those who donated/sponsored – and to my riding buddies (and Twitter riding pals) for the support and encouragement.

Same time next year ??    Or maybe go for 250km ?!     (LOL !)

Smile

One Response

  1. […] next big event I competed in was the Around The Bay race – I did a LOT of training for this too – with 100, 120, and 160 km day rides in the months […]

Leave a Reply

