Trent goes Webby

Following on from the success of “The Slip” by Nine Inch Nails, Trent Reznor has received a “Webby” Award – akin to a big “thumbs-up” from the internet community.

Firstly, a little about the Webby Awards :

The Webby Awards is the leading international award honouring excellence on the Internet. Established in 1996 during the Web’s infancy, the Webbys are presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 550-member body of leading Web experts, business figures, luminaries, visionaries and creative celebrities.

“The Internet’s highest honor” – The New York Times

… and the award this year…

The Webby Awards is thrilled to honor Trent Reznor with the Webby Artist of the Year Award in recognition of his album, The Slip, which debuted for free download in May 2008 on his website.

By making his music available to fans for free, Trent Reznor embraced the true openness of the Internet, similar to the release of the album Year Zero, which launched with an award-winning alternate reality game.

Trent Reznor’s ability to connect with fans far and wide through the Web makes him a qualified ambassador of online culture, and arguably one of the most-recognized artists harnessing the power of the Internet to spread music.


The awards will be presented at an award ceremony in New York – June 8, 2009.


Interesting to note that there is also a Webby award to “Twitter” – for the “Breakout of the Year” – growing 900%…!

Popular with celebrities, brands and individuals alike, Twitter levels the playing field for all who use the service, restricting access to no one.

This is the ultimate embodiment of the democratic spirit of the Web.

Here’s a full list of all the Webby Awards for this year – the 13th year (been running since 1996) :

  • Webby Artist of the Year Award
    • Trent Reznor
  • Webby Person of the Year Award
    • Jimmy Fallon
  • Webby Award for Breakout of the Year
    • Twitter
  • Webby Award for Best Actress
    • Sarah Silverman
  • Webby Award for Outstanding Comedic Performance
    • Lisa Kudrow
  • Webby Award for Film and Video Person of the Year
    • Seth MacFarlane
  • Webby Agency of the Year Award
    • R/GA

13th Annual Webby Special Achievement Award Winners


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s