Calculator in Windows 7 – OMG !

All too often, I’ll simply click Start > Run and then type “calc” when I need to do some quick sums or calc’s – rather than have a REAL calculator on my desk.

Just opened up the new version in Windows 7 – and it looks pretty slick.

image

Did a few quick calc’s and thought to myself “self, I wonder if they’ve changed much ?”.  Had thought they might’ve had a “large size” with BIIIIG buttons – but no.

Anyway – I tried a few menu’s – and WOW – lots cool (GREAT) new functions.

Not just “Scientific” or “Standard” – always had that.  

Check out these great features :

Programmer Mode

image

Statistics Mode

image

Haven’t worked out either of those – will look more into it.

History

Can click on “Option > History” – and get an list of the previous few calcs.

image

Even better – you can CHANGE the values in each of those rows, and continue (re-evaluate).   And has scroll arrows – to go back 10, 20, 30 calc’s, etc

Unit Conversion

My “wow” came when I saw the ability to convert FROM/TO different units – espcially good for acres, metres, yards, inches, pascals, celsius, and so on – a huuuge list of “types” and then “units”

image

image

Date Calculation

Can work out the exact number of years, months and days – jeez I’m getting OLD.

image

You can even add “templates” – of different types.   Might be an XML file hidden somewhere that you could add to – will have to go hunt for it.

So, there ya go.

Have lovin’ Windows 7 more and more each – never thought I’d say “WOW’ when using CALCULATOR !!

🙂

Leave a comment