• Grumpy Wookie

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Recent Visitors

  • Blog Stats

    • 347,593 hits

Service Unavailable

After installing the recent Service Pack 1 (for K2) update to my SharePoint + K2 Virtual Machine, I was having troubles loading the “SharePoint” site.  

I’ll admit now that’s it’s a dumb mistake (as described ahead) – but got me stuck for 1/2 hour or more – and wanted to let folk know.

1

When trying to view the MOSS site, all that was displayed is “Service Unavailable”.

I made sure to do an IISRESET – and then re-booted the server.  And checked within the Event Viewer for anything wrong – and couldn’t see anything interesting.

Within IIS Admin, there are security settings which are changed for the new SP1 K2 server, but supposedly just for a distributed environment.  So – checked that, and App.Pool Identity.

It was only then that I noticed something TINY …>

2

Here’s a zoomed-in view :

3

*DOH*   The App.Pool isn’t running !!    Jeez – is it just me, or is that hard to notice ??    (red icon)

Right-click, and Start – and all OK – SharePoint working !   *yay*

Having said that – I should have noticed this when viewing “Properties” of the App.Pool !!

4

So – lesson learned – if seeing “Service Unavailable” – check the App.Pool !

And, too many bourbons on a Sat.night make you unable to differentiate colour (red/green).   

šŸ™‚

11 Responses

  1. thanks! Saved my time!! šŸ™‚

  2. Cheers for that. I was almost at the point of reintsalling moss. Saved many hours of my time.

  3. Thx – great advice!

  4. I believe this just saved us hours of pain! Thanks for the great post. It was excatly what was wrong.

  5. […] outĀ ServiceĀ UnavailableĀ for screenshots and walkthrough by Grumpy […]

  6. I think this is it. Thanks for posting.

  7. You just saved my life!!!

    Thanks Pal

  8. Thanks a lot. I had the application pool running under my AD account and recently changed the password, causing ‘service unavailable’ . Thx again !

  9. THIS SOLUTION WORK GOOD
    Open the command line and navigate to the Progarm Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\web server extensions\12\BIN folder.
    Type the stsadm -o updatefarmcredentials -userlogin -password
    Reset IIS by typing iisreset /noforce to restart the Web application pool.
    After you complete these steps on the computer running Central Administration, you should perform the following steps on every server in the farm:

    Open the command line and navigate to the Progarm Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\web server extensions\12\BIN folder.
    Type stsadm -o updatefarmcredentials -userlogin -password -local

  10. Brilliant! This solution saved me from full cardiac arrest tonight,

  11. […] [Refer URLs Below]https://grumpywookie.wordpress.com/2007/12/28/service-unavailable/http://guru-web.blogspot.com/2007/10/central-administration-site-service.html […]

Leave a Reply

